I was over the moon for about 10 seconds

by Garwulf on May 8, 2010 · 13 comments

Beware of Starcraft 2 Beta Scams

Then I thought… you know what… I better just check my Battle.net account to see what’s what.

Well wouldn’t you just know it… no Starcraft II Beta download to be found. Hmmm…

HuntsmansLodge.com PSA

People, I urge you… beware of e-mails claiming to be a Starcraft 2 Beta invitation.

Whatever you do… DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINKS CONTAINED WITHIN THE E-MAIL.

Even if the e-mail looks as legitimate as this one, and contains an @blizzard.com or @battle.net return e-mail address, do not trust it.

Logging directly into your Battle.net account is the only safe way to ensure a legitimate Starcraft 2 Beta invitation. Do not be a victim of the Starcraft II Beta scams going around.

That is all.

Zygor Guides - WoW In-Game Strategy Guides

Power level your characters, make tons of gold, master your professions, earn loads of achievements, gain new mounts & companion pets, streamline your gameplay with macros, and much more... Read my review then try Zygor Guides for free.
www.zygorguides.com

{ 13 comments… read them below or add one }

1 kaiken7 May 8, 2010 at 2:51 am

To me that looks like legit SC2 beta invite. Looking through it, its same word for word like the one I got.
Where do the links inside the mail lead? Not to battle.net?

PS If you want and this isn’t a legit inv, I can mail you a SC2 beta inv key. Got 2 additional already.

Reply

2 jonathan9 May 8, 2010 at 8:09 am

if you would like to send me one, that would be awesome, i really got my hopes up with this email -_-

Reply

3 jonathan9 May 8, 2010 at 8:37 am

email is – bigj0100@yahoo.com

Reply

4 Garwulf May 8, 2010 at 11:30 am

Thanks for the offer kaiken. I think what I’ll do is contact Blizz asking them about the legitimacy of this e-mail. If it is cool… If not, then I’ll try to work my mojo for an invite.

I’ll post an update to this if I turn out to be wrong in my assumption. If you still have the key(s), and provided I don’t have one yet, I’ll hit you up. :)

Reply

5 Kim May 8, 2010 at 2:59 am

Not to sound stupid, but can’t you just preorder it through Amazon or Gamespot and get a beta key with purchase? They say it takes up to 5 days to get the code, but most people have been getting their’s quicker.

Reply

6 Garwulf May 8, 2010 at 11:25 am

Ooh! I’ll have to look into that. If pre-ordering one guarantees you a beta key, that seems like a no-brainer to me.

Reply

7 Samskeyti May 8, 2010 at 7:30 am

I see you’re using a mac!
I actually got a legitimate invitation. I went to my battle.net, and what is there:
No driver to install the mac version!!! So I can’t do anything with my invitiation.

Reply

8 Dotcomlarry May 8, 2010 at 8:52 am

If you still have a key, I’d love one as well. My email is my username at gmail.

I also got this same email. The links do go to battle.net, and the email headers look absolutely legitimate. Oh well :(

Reply

9 Sean May 8, 2010 at 9:50 am

Just curious, how do you know this is a scam? All of the links in the e-mail are legit and the header information all checks out. There is even a thread on the SC2 forums and one of the moderators has confirmed this as a legit e-mail.

Reply

10 Garwulf May 8, 2010 at 11:20 am

I assumed it was a hoax due to the absence of the SC2 Beta d/l in my account.

I Googled the subject of this e-mail and found other users claiming it was a phishing attempt. If it is in fact real, I’ll just wait to see when SC2 is an option in my account.

Reply

11 Geno May 8, 2010 at 11:07 am

I got this too and it seems like there’s a lot of people who have.
It looks like blizzard sent out a lot of mac user opt-in invites but didn’t activate the account.

Reply

12 Garwulf May 8, 2010 at 11:20 am

Hopefully that’s the case. :)

The only way to truly know is to ask Blaq.

Blaquespell, are you out there..? Any idea whether this is a legit e-mail or not? Did Blizz drop the ball with mac users?

Reply

13 Jared May 8, 2010 at 12:16 pm

Same thing happened to me too…

I got an invite from them and I am a Mac User but my account fails to show support for SC2…

Reply

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: